Close this search box.

Related articles

Knowledge categories

What is ITIL4?


ITIL® 4 is the latest version of the IT Infrastructure Library (ITIL), a set of best practices for managing information technology (IT) services. It has been designed to provide organisations with the means to proactively manage and deliver high-quality services that meet customer needs. ITIL 4 builds on the progress that ITIL has made over the years, evolving established ITSM practices to fit in with the wider context of customer experience, value streams, and digital transformation. ITIL 4 also promotes greater alignment with new ways of working, such as Lean, Agile, and DevOps, in order to co-create business value.

The history of ITIL®

ITIL was first developed in the 1980s by the UK government’s Central Computer and Telecommunications Agency (CCTA) and has since evolved into a globally recognized framework for managing IT services.

ITIL was initially designed to provide guidance for IT service management in government organizations, but its popularity quickly spread to the private sector. In the 1990s and 2000s, ITIL was adopted by a growing number of organizations around the world, and was recognized as a global standard for IT service management.

Over the years, ITIL has undergone several updates and revisions, with the latest version (ITIL 4) being released in 2019. ITIL 4 builds on the core principles of ITIL, but also introduces new concepts and practices to reflect the changing landscape of IT and the needs of organisations.

Today, ITIL is used by organizations of all sizes and industries to improve the quality and efficiency of their IT services, and to ensure that they are aligned with the needs of the business. ITIL continues to be a widely recognized and highly valued framework for IT service management, and is used by organizations around the world to deliver high-quality IT services to their customers.

Why should organisations care about ITIL 4

From an operational perspective, ITIL 4 provides organisations with a set of best practices and processes for managing their IT services. This includes establishing service design and transition plans, implementing service improvement initiatives, and setting performance metrics. Each process is optimized for efficiency, speed, and quality by leveraging advanced technologies such as automation.

Beyond the operations side of ITSM, ITIL 4 also encourages organisations to focus on customer experience. By understanding their customers’ pain points and designing services that meet their needs, organisations can create a seamless and valuable experience for their users. Additionally, ITIL 4 promotes collaboration between teams in order to facilitate end-to-end service delivery across multiple channels.

Finally, ITIL 4 offers guidance on how to ensure that services are continually monitored and improved upon over time. By leveraging the right technology solutions and measuring customer feedback, organisations can identify areas for improvement and develop strategies for staying ahead of the competition.

In summary, ITIL 4 presents an effective model for managing IT services that is focused on customer satisfaction, agility, innovation, and continual improvement. By investing in this framework, organisations can benefit from improved service quality while also reducing costs associated with ineffective management practices. ITIL 4 is the latest version of ITIL and it provides a digital operating model that enables organisations to co-create effective value from their IT-supported products and services.

ITIL 4 Training & Certification

The ITIL 4 certification scheme is a modular system made up of several components and in which you expand your knowledge on certain topics depending upon your needs. It is designed to provide a common language and approach for IT professionals.

The ITIL 4 certification scheme consists of a series of modules, each of which covers a different aspect of IT service management. These modules can be taken individually, or as part of a certification path that leads to the ITIL 4 Managing Professional or ITIL 4 Strategic Leader qualification.

The ITIL 4 certification scheme is divided into two main streams: the ITIL Managing Professional (MP) stream, which focuses on hands-on, practical skills for managing and delivering IT services; and the ITIL Strategic Leader (SL) stream, which focuses on strategic planning and decision-making for IT service management.

Om een ITIL 4 Managing Professional te worden, moet men de volgende modules voltooien:

  • ITIL4 Foundation
  • ITIL4 Create, Deliver and Support
  • ITIL4 Drive Stakeholder Value
  • ITIL4 High Velocity IT
  • ITIL4 Direct, Plan and Improve

To become an ITIL 4 Strategic Leader, individuals must complete the following modules:

  • ITIL4 Foundation
  • ITIL4 Managing Professional (4 modules)
  • ITIL4 Strategic Leader (1 module)
The highest certification is this one of ITIL 4 Master. To achieve this, the following certifications must be obtained:
  • ITIL4 Foundation
  • ITIL4 Managing Professional (4 modules)
  • ITIL4 Strategic Leader (1 module)
  • ITIL4 Practice Manager (min. 5 practices)

Share this in your favorite network